European Union – Latin America and the Caribbean Structured and Comprehensive Bi-regional Dialogue on Migration

Established 2009

The European Union, Latin America and the Caribbean Summit is a biennial meeting of heads of state and government of Latin America, the Caribbean (LAC) and the European Union (EU), which was inaugurated in 1999 to develop a strategic partnership focused on strengthening democracy, the rule of law, international peace and political stability.  Since its foundation in December 2011, CELAC (Community of Latin American and Caribbean States) acts as the partner in this bi-regional process.

The Structured and Comprehensive bi-regional Dialogue on Migration was launched on June 30, 2009 as a follow up to the commitments of the 5th EU-LAC Summit of Heads of States and Governments of May 2008.  The meeting formally adopted the joint document “Basis for Structuring the EU-LAC Dialogue on Migration”, which outlined the expected structure and content of the Dialogue and includes an indicative calendar of meetings for the coming years.  

The dialogue’s objectives include: (i) identification of common challenges and areas for mutual cooperation, (ii) building a stronger evidence base for EU-LAC migration in order to better understand its realities, based on the principle of shared responsibility, (iii) strengthening the commitment and willingness of both sides to discuss migration issues.


Current Thematic Focus

  • Border management and combatting document fraud
  • Combatting discrimination, racism and xenophobia
  • Combatting human trafficking
  • Combatting migrant smuggling
  • Irregular migration
  • Labour migration
  • Migrant’s rights
  • Migration and development
  • Migration data
  • Remittances
  • Voluntary return and reintegration


Member States (61 States, including 33 CELAC Member States and 28 EU Member States)

Antigua and Barbuda El Salvador Panama
Argentina Estonia Paraguay
Austria Finland Peru
Bahamas France Poland
Barbados Germany Portugal
Belgium Greece Romania
Belize Grenada Saint Kitts and Nevis
Bolivia Guatemala Saint Lucia
Brazil Guyana Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Bulgaria Haiti Slovakia
Chile Honduras Slovenia
Colombia Hungary Spain
Costa Rica Ireland Suriname
Croatia Jamaica Sweden
Cuba Latvia Trinidad and Tobago
Cyprus Lithuania United Kingdom
Czech Republic Luxembourg Uruguay
Denmark Malta Venezuela
Dominica Mexico    
Dominican Republic Netherlands    
Ecuador Nicaragua    

Chairing country
The Dialogue is co-chaired by the EU (Council of the EU and the European External Action Service) and CELAC.
Current Co-Chairs: El Salvador for CELAC and Estonia, Bulgaria and Austria for the Council of the EU


Observer Organizations
International and Ibero-American Foundation for Administration and Public Policies (FIIAPP)
International Organization for Migration (IOM)



Until 2015 the IRF was supported through the Project “Strengthening the dialogue and cooperation between the European Union (EU) and Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) to establish management models on migration and development policies”, implemented by IOM in coordination with FIIAPP. 




Contact Information
International Organization for Migration (IOM)
Rue Belliard, 20 (7th floor), 1040
Brussels – Belgium
Phone: +32.2.894.92.30
Fax: +32.2.894.92.49

International and Ibero-American Foundation for Administration and Public Policies (FIIAPP)
c/ Beatriz de Bobadilla, 18. 28040
Madrid – Spain
Phone: +34. 915.914.600
Fax: +34.915.342.314


8-9 November 2016, Santiago de Chile, X High-Level Meeting of EU-CELAC Structured and Comprehensive Bi-regional Dialogue on Migration
June 10-11, 2015, Brussels, 2nd EU-CELAC / 8th EU-LAC "Shaping our common future: working for prosperous, cohesive and sustainable societies for our citizens"
November 20, 2015, Quito, 10th EU-CELAC High Level Meeting on Migration Quito
June 22, 2015, Brussels, Technical Seminar “EU-CELAC Migration: Perspectives and Opportunities”
November 13-14, 2013, Brussels, 9th EU-CELAC High Level Meeting of the Structured and Comprehensive Dialogue on Migration
26-27 November 2013, Brussels, Belgium, 8th EU-CELAC high Level meeting on Migration (theme: policies for the protection and integration of migrants as well as the fight against all forms of discrimination, racism and xenophobia)
28 November 2012, VII High Level Meeting (theme: trafficking of human beings and migrant smuggling)
25 May 2012, 6th High Level Meeting (theme: migration and economic growth)
24-25 May 2011, Brussels, Belgium, 5th High Level Meeting (theme: regular migration)
17 December 2010, 4th High Level Meeting (theme: irregular Migration)
15-16 March 2010, Madrid, Spain, 3rd High Level Meeting “Families, Vulnerable Groups and Migration
17-18 February 2010, Madrid, Spain, 2nd High Level Meeting “Education, Health and Migration
25 September 2009, Brussels, Belgium, 1st High Level Meeting “Synergies between Migration and Development



Brussels Declaration “Shaping our common future: working together for prosperous, cohesive and sustainable societies for our citizens”
Santiago Declaration
EU-CELAC Action Plan for 2013-2015
Madrid Declaration adopted at the 1st European Union – Latin America and Caribbean summit on 18 May 2010 and Madrid Action Plan for 2010-2012
Basis for structuring the EU-LAC Dialogue on Migration, 2009
Lima Declaration “Addressing our peoples’ priorities together”, May 16, 2008